Award-Giving Ceremony of BRICS Youth Short Films Festival in New Delhi

Tuesday, 20 March 2012 05:43

Russia bagged the awards for the Best Feature Film (Ainur Askarov, Director--“Enmesh”), Best Documentary Film (Anton Tayshikhin, Director--“Pariah”), Best Animation Film (Mikhail Dvoryankin, Director--“Women’s Day Gift”), and the Best Actor-Male (a boy--“Enmesh”) at the four-day BRICS Youth Short Films Festival entitled “Film Dialogue--2012”.

The award-giving ceremony was held on the concluding day at a colourful function at the Russian Centre of Science and Culture (RCSC) on March 16, 2012. The film festival, jointly organised by the RCSC and the Citizens’ Film Forum (CFF) with the cooperation and support of the Embassies of Brazil, China, Russia and South Africa, received wide acclaim and good response.

In all, the film festival successfully offered a forum for young film-makers from Russia and India to showcase their films and a rare opportunity for interaction and mutual understanding. In the first-time-ever film festival in the BRICS format, the young film-makers got a chance of having an international audience and a unique occasion to get their film selected by an International Jury.

India won the awards under the categories of Best Director (Satish Chandrasekharan--“Satish Chandrasekharan’s Story”), Second Best Actor-Male (Raja, Actor--“White Dirt”), Best Actor-Female (Vaibhavi Pardeshi, Actress--“Vansh”), Second Best Actor-Female (Sonali Chalke, Actress--“Revolutionary”), Best Script (Swapnil Vichare, Santosh Subramanium—Script;  Jugal Kishor Tayal—Director--“What is Sex”), Best Cameraman (Milind Jog—Camera;  Ms. Reema Sengupta-- Director--“Tigers, They are all Dead”), Special Jury Recommendation (Kunal Suresh Walve--Director--“Photu”), Special Jury Recommendation (Mithunchandra Chaudhari-- Director--“Compulsory Hellmate”), Viewers’ Choice (Satish Chandrasekharan-- Director--“Satish Chandrasekharan’s  Story”), Viewers’ Choice (Satyendra Pandey-- Director--“Just Another Love Story”), Viewers’ Choice Mrs. Reema Sengupta--Director--“Tigers, They are all Dead”), Viewers’ Choice (Ajit Ranjan--Director--“Parchhaai”), and Viewers’ Choice (Harkiran Kaur-- Director-- “Aashiyana”).

Certificates of Appreciation were distributed to directors of all the films, which were screened at the festival.

Making an overall assessment of the film festival, the Head of the Jury Mr. Sudhir Bose, Noted Film Critic and Lecturer, lauded the perception and imagination of the young film-makers, and congratulated their efforts. He, along with another Jury member Ms. Hema Odhav, First Secretary (Political Multilateral), South African High Commission in New Delhi, and Ms. Yelena S. Shtapkina, Deputy Director (Culture & Information), RCSC, distributed the awards and certificates to prize-winners.

Welcoming the gathering, Mr. Gadzhi M. Akhemedov, Deputy Director, RCSC, acknowledged the initiative and cooperation of the co-organizer Citizens’ Film Forum and extensive support provided by the Embassies of Brazil, China, Russia and South Africa to make the Film Festival a great success. Pointing out that the festival being organized on the eve of the forthcoming BRICS Summit, he noted that the RCSC is contemplating to make the festival an annual feature. Thanking the audience who recorded the viewers’ choice in the selection of the films, he appreciated the painstaking efforts taken by Jury Members, who were presented with momentos.

The award-winning films were screened after the ceremony.

Popular articles

09 February 2018

Russian Ambassador H.E. Mr Nikolay Kudashev gave an...

Russian military relations with Pakistan very minimal, says Russian envoy Nikolay Kudashev Suhasini Haidar, Dinakar Peri Russia’s new Ambassador to...
30 January 2018

Statement by the Russian Embassy on the conferment...

It is with great satisfaction that we learned about the conferment posthumously of the Padma Bhushan Award on late Ambassador Extraordinary and...
09 February 2018

Russian Diplomat’s day in New Delhi

On February 9, the Russian Embassy in New Delhi hosted a solemn function on the occasion of the Diplomats’ Day. Representatives of the Ministry of...
Emergency phone number only for the citizens of Russia in emergency in India +91-81-3030-0551
Shantipath, Chanakyapuri,
New Delhi - 110021
(91-11) 2611-0640/41/42;
(91-11) 2687 38 02;
(91-11) 2687 37 99
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.